We are currently developing member pages and services, meanwhile if you wish to keep up with the latest news by email please sign up to Announce.


 If you have issues logging in please use  http://forum.bcss.org.uk  

Mr Mal Weobley

Mal first started growing succulent plants whilst still a schoolboy, meeting up with two of his like–minded friends in their homes to talk about them. He then moved to the Daventry area where he built a small greenhouse to continue his hobby, joining the Society as a Junior Member of Northamptonshire Branch of the N.C.S.S. in 1959 and travelling to meetings by scooter. However his membership lapsed when he was away on active service, but he rejoined in 1970 down in the West Country where his work was and was soon an active show exhibitor. He became Zone treasurer for Zone 9 and then helped found the N.C.S.S. Bristol Branch with Angus Buchan and Elsie Carr in 1972 where he was elected its first Chairman.

He was later relocated in his work as Principal of an 'approved school' for difficult and disturbed adolescents where his work load was very heavy and he 'dropped out' of membership, but continued growing plants. However under encouragement from Clive Innes he eventually rejoined the Society.

On rejoining the Society he became a member of the Worthing branch, transferring to Crawley branch in 1996 and was elected as its Chairman in 2002 where he still retains that position. In 2001 he was elected Zone Rep. for Zone 12, a post he held until 2011. He started to give talks to branches at about this time, eventually appearing on the Speakers List for the first time in 2007.

He attended Judges Courses for many years, starting in 1992 and became a judge in 1994. He was elected onto the Shows Committee in 2002 and became Chairman of the Committee in 2005. He chaired the committee during the very successful National Shows in 2008 and 2012. He has also been responsible for a number of years for organising the Judges Course. He was awarded an Award of Merit and Robert Holt Meritorious Award in 2012 for his extensive work at Branch, Zone and Society levels.